✆ 215-650-7406 ✉ info@autoaccidentlawyerphiladelphia.org

Posts Tagged ‘auto accident lawyer’

Car Accident Statute Of Limitations

The Clock Is Ticking On Your Claim The laws for each state put a time limit on when you can file a claim in court known as the Statute Of Limitations. If you do not file a claim before your state’s deadline, you will lose your right to sue and recover money damages for your injuries and any future complications arising from your injury. If you’re hurt in any type of accident in the Philadelphia area, it’s in your best interest to consult with a personal injury lawyer about your accident as soon as possible. In Pennsylvania, a personal injury action must be filed within two years of the date when the injury occurred. In Pennsylvania, personal injury actions include medical malpractice and products liability claims. Pennsylvania does, however, have a “discovery rule,” which, in limited cases, extends the time for filing a personal injury action. Under this rule, the statute of limitations will begin to run at the time the plaintiff knows, or should have known, that he or she was injured and that the injury was caused by another’s conduct. The statute of limitations affects your case a great deal. Once you allow your case to expire without filing a lawsuit, you lose all rights to file any claim for any type of vehicle accidents you became a victim. When you are faced with the reality of having to file a lawsuit, you must learn that there are deadlines that might prevent you from starting one. Like any other personal injury claim, there are always important deadlines to be met. Every year, many people failed to get the compensation for damages they deserve because they have put off contacting a lawyer too long. When you are involved in an accident with another vehicle, whether it was also moving or if it was empty and stationary, you are required to stop. Under the law, you must exchange information with the other driver, or attempt to contact the owner of an empty vehicle. If someone is injured, you are required to provide reasonable assistance and contact emergency authorities. The penalties for a hit & run depend largely on the severity of the accident. If the accident resulted in only property damage, you could face a 3rd degree misdemeanor charge which carries up to one year in prison and fines reaching $2,500. If, however, the accident resulted in injury or death of another person, the penalty is far more severe. Leaving the scene of an accident where injury results is considered a 3rd degree felony, carrying a mandatory minimum 90 day jail sentence and up to 7 years in prison, along with a minimum $1,000 fine. Leaving the scene of an accident where the victim dies is also considered a 3rd degree felony, and carries a mandatory minimum of 1 year in prison, with a maximum of 7 years. It also requires a minimum fine of $2,500. These mandatory minimum sentences cannot be reduced or suspended. For more information or to…

Read More

What To Do After A Car Accident Injury

Things happen in our lives daily and we have the power to influence them to some extent.  However, there are some things that no matter how hard we try to avoid or stay away from, they still manage to find their way into our lives. The side effects of car accident injury occurrences are beyond anyone’s understanding, but the best thing you can do is be prepared with that you have available.  The following article gives some guidance on What To Do After A Car Accident Injury. A car accident injury can be upsetting and distressing, even if it is a very minor accident. It is normal to feel alarmed and shocked when you have been involved in an accident. This can make it difficult to think clearly and do everything that you need to do. If you try to remain calm after your car accident, you will be in the best possible position to deal with the situation well.  The first priority if involved in a car accident is always the preservation of life.  Check yourself for injuries as well as your passengers.  If you are able, make sure you are safe from further harm, such as from other traffic on the road.  Check the other vehicle’s passengers to see if anyone needs immediate medical attention.  If anyone involved in the accident is hurt, it is essential that you call 911 immediately and ask for an ambulance. The police should also be alerted if someone has been injured and/or if a car or debris is obstructing the road.  If the injuries are minor and you are able to take photos do so. Once authorities arrive make sure and get medical attention for yourself and any of your passengers that may need it.  Get names and badge numbers of Police Officers that respond to the scene.  Write down police car numbers and ambulance numbers.  Request a police report number from the officer handling the accident.  Exchange information with the other driver if possible as well.  If you go to the hospital make sure you get copies of discharge papers that state your injuries and doctor’s statements or comments about your condition and treatment recommendations. It is important to tell your insurance company about the accident as quickly as possible. Check your policy to find out how quickly you have to inform them. Some insurers give you as little as two days to report an accident, while others may give you up to two weeks.  After the accident you’ll want to contact an Auto Accident Lawyer as soon as possible as well.  The Philadelphia Attorney Network will provide you with a free consultation and review all the information you gathered about the accident.  If you and the attorney come to an agreement and it is determined that you have a case, your attorney will be able to get a copy of the official police report using the report number given to your by the officer at the scene of the accident. …

Read More